GOVERNMENT OF TONGA

MEDIA RELEASE

(11 November, 2015)

“TONGA PUBLIC HOLIDAYS FOR 2016”

The official Public Holidays confirmed for 2016 are as follows:

MONTH: NAME OF PUBLIC HOLIDAY: TYPE OF HOLIDAY: ACTUAL DATE: OBSERVATION DATE:
JANUARY New Year’s Day International 1 January Friday, 1 January 2016

 

MARCH Good Friday

Easter Monday

International

International

25 March

28 March

 

Friday, 25 March 2016

Monday, 28 March 2016

APRIL ANZAC Day International 25 April Monday, 25 April 2016
JUNE Emancipation Day Tonga Public Holiday 4 June (Saturday) Monday, 6 June, 2016
JULY Official Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI, and Anniversary of the Coronation Day of the reigning Sovereign of Tonga) Tonga Public Holiday 4 July Monday, 4 July, 2016
SEPTEMBER Birthday of His Royal Highness The Crown Prince Tupouto’a ‘Ulukalala (Birthday of the Heir to the Crown) Tonga Public Holiday 17 September Saturday, 17 September,2016
NOVEMBER Constitution Day (National Day) Tonga Public Holiday 4 November (Friday) Monday, 7 November, 2016
DECEMBER Tupou I Day

 

Christmas Day

 

Boxing Day

Tonga Public Holiday

 

International

 

International

4 December (Sunday)

 

25 December

 

26 December

Monday, 5 December, 2016

 

Sunday, 25 December, 2016

 

Monday, 26 December, 2016

 In 2016, three days are observed in accordance with the Public Holidays Act (Cap. 51), i.e. Emancipation Day (June 4), Constitution Day (November 4) and Tupou I Day (December 4), since these public holidays specified, falls upon a Thursday, Friday, Saturday or Sunday, that public holiday shall be celebrated on the next following Monday.

Other public holidays such as Christmas Day, the day immediately succeeding Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, the official birthdays of the reigning Sovereign and the heir to the Crown, and ANZAC are observed on the actual days it occurred.

 

ENDS

Issued by the: The Prime Minister’s Office, P.O. Box 62, Nuku’alofa, Tonga. Tel: (676) 24 644 Fax: (676) 23 888; For media enquiries- Email: pressoffice@pmo.gov.to

Translate »